Tolkien Collection Haul: July-September 2016

How the hell is it October already?? It feels like I did my last collection haul last week. Anyway, let’s just get straight into the post.

Tolkien Collection Haul: Jul-Sep 2016


I went to a couple of really great book sales in July! I usually don’t do this, but I’m going to include how much I paid for each item because I’m very proud of the amount of money I spent the last few months.

  • A Tolkien Bestiary by David Day (ISBN 0-345-28283-3) – I grabbed this book so fast when I saw it. $3
  • The Annotated Hobbit annotated by Douglas A. Anderson (ISBN 0-618-13470-0) – My dad actually found this at the book sale, and this was one of the items I was the most excited about! I’ve wanted it for so long but didn’t want to dish out the $28 to buy it. It’s in new condition except for a pretty big pen scribble on the inside cover, but it’s fine. I’ll definitely be using this for my next Hobbit reread. $3
  • Exploring J.R.R. Tolkien’s The Hobbit by Corey Olsen (ISBN 978-0-544-10663-5) – This is another book I wanted for a long time. $1
  • The Soddit by A.R.R.R. Roberts (ISBN 0-575-07554-6) – $1
  • The Tolkien Companion by J.E.A. Tyler (ISBN not found) – Bought this to replace a worn out copy I already had. $3
  • The Lord of the Rings: A Reader’s Companion by Wayne G. Hammond and Christina Scull (ISBN 978-0-618-64267-0) – Ahhhhh I was so stoked when I found this at a book sale! I’m planning on doing a LOTR reread with this book on the side. $3
  • The Hobbit/The Lord of the Rings Boxset – I’m too lazy to type out the ISBN’s for each book but if you’re interested in it, they’re the Silver Jubilee Edition. $4

Tolkien Collection Haul: Jul-Sep 2016


  • The Lord of the Rings and Philosophy by Gregory Bassham and Eric Bronson (ISBN 0-8126-9545-3) – This was a random find at a Goodwill. $1
  • Unfinished Tales (ISBN 0-395-32441-6) – I never saw a paperback version of this edition before. $1.50
  • The Mythology of Middle-earth by Ruth S. Noel (ISBN 0-395-27208-4) – I’ve loved Ruth’s The Languages of Tolkien’s Middle Earth since I was a kid so I’m happy to own this book. Found at a free book exchange so it was $0
  • MAD Magazine – This was also bought at a book sale and the reason I’m including this is because there’s a section in it titled “The Mad ‘Lord of the Rings’ Musical”…….The Ring and I. Get it? $1
  • The Lord of the Rings – Sorry, I’m too lazy to find the ISBNs. $4

Tolkien Collection Haul: Jul-Sep 2016


The rest of the items are sent to me from Lily, my Tolkien Collection fairy godmother.

Tolkien Collection Haul: Jul-Sep 2016

  • Mount Doom Gift Pack – This includes Frodo, Gollum and Sam
  • The Lord of the Rings Trading Card Game – There are 13 card packs included! I’m very tempted to open them all.
  • The Lord of the Rings & The Hobbit PEZ Packs

Tolkien Collection Haul: Jul-Sep 2016

UPDATE:

I bought this TTT Concert Program for $1 at the Broadway Flea Market.



~*~*~Obligatory self-shout-out~*~*~

Follow me on Twitter and Instagram for more collection updates.

3 thoughts on “Tolkien Collection Haul: July-September 2016

  1. James October 1, 2016 / 12:03 pm

    Bliss! Thanks for sharing 🙂

  2. Lily October 1, 2016 / 12:19 pm

    Those are some amazing deals! I’m glad you shared prices so people know that you don’t have to spend an arm and a leg…you just have to be patient.

    • Myla October 1, 2016 / 7:06 pm

      Exactly! Finding good deals is a big part of why collecting is fun!

Leave a comment