25 Bookish Facts About Me | Tag

I watched a video by Amanda Carter, a booktuber I’ve recently subscribed to, called “25 Bookish Facts About Me”, pretty self-explanatory. Here’s the original video.

I wasn’t tagged BUT I’m gonna do it anyway.

1. I don’t mind movie/television book covers. I don’t care which edition someone buys because inside the story is still the same, so if you want a particular edition with a movie photo, you do you.

2. I’m the kind of reader who bends the spine or dog ears pages. I’m sorry!! You can unclutch your pearls now.

In my defense, I only do it to the books I own and never ones I borrow. Even I know that’s a big no-no! (I know that’s still unheard of for a lot of people.) Even if I happen to not bend the spine, the book I’m reading ends up looking distressed by the time I’m done with it. I sound like such a violent reader, oh god.

3. I buy too many books. That’s probably old news for some of you. I have a bad habit of buying lots of books to add to my TBR list, and it just piles up to the point of being overwhelming. I have 40+ books that I have yet to read and it’s a problem. But it’s hard not to buy more when they only cost $1-5! (I shop at used bookstores and Goodwills frequently…)

book shelf tbr
A majority of these books are part of my TBR list

4. I hate (that’s probably too strong a word) when book pages have that old-timey uneven look. I prefer pages to be nice and even which is hilarious coming from someone who damages their books on the regular.

book pet peeve

5. Like basically every student ever, I didn’t always enjoy the required reading in school. These are the only books I loved in middle/high school:

  • A Wrinkle in Time by Madeleine L’Engle
  • The Giver by Lois Lowry
  • The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood
  • 1984 by George Orwell
  • Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen

6. And just to show the other end, these are some of the books I reallyyyyy didn’t enjoy reading:

  • The Pearl by John Steinbeck
  • Heart of Darkness by Joseph Conrad
  • The Scarlet Letter by Nathaniel Hawthorne
  • Invisible Man by Ralph Ellison

It’s been 6+ years since I read any of those books, so my opinion may or may not change if I read them again.

7. From ages 8-15, I was a very big YA fan. I’m slowly getting back into it now and I want to read the Grisha TrilogyThe Lunar Chronicles, and Rainbow Rowell’s books.
I read a lot of Sarah Dessen (my favorite was This Lullaby), Ellen Hopkins, and Cassandra Clare back in the day.

8. I discovered The Hunger Games series in 2009 and sped straight through the first two books. I even remember faking being sick to get out of gym class so I could finish Catching Fire. I was SO excited for Mockingjay that I made my mom drive me to the mall the day it was released because I thought if I didn’t get there early, all the books would be gone. I had nothing to worry about because when I walked into Barnes & Noble there were hundreds of copies available…better safe than sorry though, right??

9. I had a Twilight phase. It happened and I am not ashamed (I’m ashamed a little bit). I was…a big fan. I read them in 2007 and even went to a midnight release party for Breaking Dawn which I read in one night. And the films, oh my god. I made my dad take me and a friend to midnight showings for the first two films. I had a Team Edward shirt and bag. I even made my mom drive me to a Hot Topic store far from my my house just because they were playing the movie soundtrack (I can’t remember for which film) and it was a ~big deal~ because it was like a first listen kinda thing? I drew fanart, I owned a lot of merch, I wanted to marry Edward, it was just a lot. I fell for Twilight and I fell hard.

twilight collection
I OWNED SO MUCH STUFF

10. I read the first three books in the Song of Ice and Fire series over three years ago, and I have no idea when I’ll read the other two. A Storm of Swords was so intense, I had to put the book down more than once to yell because I didn’t know how to release the emotions I was feeling. Then I tried reading A Feast for Crows after and only made it 82 pages before putting it down because it was so much more boring. I own all five books so maybe I’ll continue it. One day. Maybe. Or not. I don’t know. (Sidenote: I don’t watch the show and I don’t even remember where I left off. When the episode aired where Sansa was…well you know…and I found out, I was truly disgusted and my desire to not watch the show increased 100%)

asoiaf books
It’s obvious which books I’ve read and which I haven’t

11.  I didn’t read Harry Potter until 2009 (I was 16). I honestly don’t know why I didn’t read the series before then. I watched the first four films in theaters and I liked them enough, wasn’t obsessed at all though. I probably spent no more than two and a half weeks reading the entire series because when I wasn’t doing homework I was reading and I loved it. I have a very clear memory of sitting in my chemistry classroom reading The Goblet of Fire (I think we had free time or something, I promise I wasn’t ignoring my teacher!), and someone spoiled Dumbledore’s death for me. I was not happy.

12. I love to take dust jackets off hardcovers to see what the book itself looks like. I like seeing what color it is, see if maybe there’s an illustration on the front, or what the spine looks like. So if you see me in a bookstore, you’ll most likely see me looking at all the hardcovers.

13. My favorite series as a kid was Junie B. Jones by Barbara Park. I owned all the books and I liked copying the illustrations. Even though I’ll never read them again, I’m a little sad that I gave them all away 10+ years ago.

14. I bring a book with me everywhere I go even if I know for a fact that I will not read it. I just like having one with me.

15. I prefer paperbacks over hardcovers because I can fit more of them on my shelves, they’re cheaper, and don’t weigh down my bag when I’m out and about.

16. I judge books by their covers. ¯\_(ツ)_/¯

17. I like to alter books. If you don’t know what that means, it’s basically when someone takes a book and cuts/rips the pages, draws/paints in them, blacks out words etc. I’m just committing all sorts of book crimes.

18. Besides Tolkien, the authors I’ve read the most from are Brandon Sanderson and Neil Gaiman. I’m currently reading The Bands of Mourning and The Way of Kings and I looove them so far. Mistborn has become one of my favorite series of all time and I only hear great things about the Stormlight Archive. I’m ashamed to say I have not read Stardust by Gaiman and I’m hoping to fix that some time this year.

UPDATE: I’m not counting series like Harry Potter and Series of Unfortunate Events. If I did then Lemony Snicket would probably be the author I’ve read the most from.

19. I feel guilty if I watch a movie/tv show before reading the book it’s based off of. I don’t think someone needs to read the book first, it’s just something I like to do.

20. I used to buy pretty bookmarks but it was always pointless because I’d lose them quickly. Now I’ll just rip a small section off a sheet of paper and use that.

21. I frequently go on eBay, Abebooks, and Amazon to “window shop” for Tolkien books. For fun. Just because I can’t afford everything I want, that doesn’t mean I can’t look!

22. I sometimes like to listen to music when I read, but it has to be movie scores (mainly How to Train Your Dragon 1 & 2). I can’t concentrate if there’s singing.

23. My favorite places to buy books are Goodwills (I’ve found so many great books for only $1-2), a used bookstore in my hometown’s library and Strand. It’s very difficult for me to be in Manhattan and not go to Strand even if it’s just for 10 minutes.

My goal is to go all the used bookstores in NYC one day.

strand books
Strand

24. I found out about a lot of books that I want to read through the “booktube” community on youtube. I’ve been watching booktube for a little over two years now and here are some of the channels I’m subscribed to:

It’s hard for me to find channels that aren’t mainly focused on YA, so if you have any recommendations please leave a comment!

25. Depending on my mood, I read multiple books at a time. Sometimes deciding which book to read gets so stressful I end up reading nothing.

I’m currently reading four different books (one graphic novel), you can see more on my Goodreadsssss.


Hmmmmm, I tag Alice (thegeekyburrow), Maria (pencilphilosophy), and Britta (tolkienbritta).

And anyone else who wants to do this tag. ✌

3 thoughts on “25 Bookish Facts About Me | Tag

  1. Alice May 7, 2016 / 1:35 pm

    I loved reading more about your inner bookworm!! I had a Twilight phase too, and I was all for Team Edward too, but Robert Pattinson…OMG, I always HATED his portrayal of Edward and he didn’t appeal to me at all. Probably the biggest disappointment from the movies 😦

Leave a Reply

