Tolkien Collection Haul: January-March 2016

Here’s everything I added to my Tolkien Collection since the beginning of the year! I didn’t include anything I got in New Zealand because it would have been too much work to get everything out again. But if you want to know what I bought during my trip, click here.

IMG_1731


  • The Art of Film: Fantasy – I got this magazine at my local Barnes & Noble. It was definitely pricey ($20!!!). It showcases art from a bunch of movies like LOTR/HobbitStar Wars, Labyrinth, and The Neverending Story.
  • The Lord of the Rings Roleplaying Game (ISBN 1-58236-951-8) – I didn’t know this book existed until I found it at Strand Bookstore.
  • Tolkien’s World: Paintings of Middle-earth (ISBN 1-56731-248-9) – I’ve wanted this for years!!! So happy to finally own it.
  • The Art of The Hobbit by J.R.R. Tolkien (ISBN 978-0-547-92825-8) – Love this book!!

First photo:

  • FOTR (ISBN 0-8124-1558-2) – This was given to me by Michael (thanks again!) It’s really cool, I’ve never seen this edition before. Now I need to hunt down the other two!
  • ROTK (ISBN 0-261-10237-0) – Got this last month when I did a big book hunt in Manhattan. Picked it up at Westsider Books & Records, it was my first time going there. This is another set I need to complete.
  • Bored of the Rings paperback – This was a gift from Lily, thanks, Lily!
  • Bored of the Rings hardcover (ISBN 978-0-575-09959-3) – Also got this at Westsider.

Second photo:

  • Tolkien: An Illustrated Atlas (ISBN 978-1-62686-493-1)  I own so many David Day books, and they’re all pretty similar but goddammit, this book is so pretty I needed it.
  • The Hobbit Russian edition (ISBN 5-17-010493-6) – Another gift from Lily! This is my 4th foreign edition of The Hobbit.
  • The Lord of the Rings Location Guidebook (ISBN 978-1-86950-491-5) – Another purchase from Westsider. I already own the bigger version, but this is the revised edition, so…
  • J.R.R. Tolkien: The Man who Created The Lord of the Rings (ISBN 0-7737-6285-X) –  Another Lily gift.

  • The Hobbit Puzzles – My dad got these for me when I was in NZ because they were on sale.
  • ROTK DVD – Last item from Lily! I had the other two widescreen DVDs, so…you know…I needed this.
  • Calendars – Calendars are super cheap in late January/February (75% off!), and my dad got me the Hobbit ones while I was in NZ. I got the 2016 Official Tolkien Calendar with Tove Jansson artwork in February.

I ordered photo prints with the Parabo Press app last month because they were running a special where you could get 25 prints for $8 with free shipping. The quality is pretty good and the paper is really nice. I want to bind a little book for them, I still have some planning to do.


If you want to stay updated on my collection additions, follow me on Tumblr, Twitter and Instagram!

4 thoughts on “Tolkien Collection Haul: January-March 2016

  1. Maria March 27, 2016 / 5:46 am

    Oh I love these photos! Especially those with Bilbo in the shire make amazing postcards or greetingcards ❤

    • Myla March 27, 2016 / 1:13 pm

      Thank you!! I think I may get my Bilbo photos printed as cards or something!

      • Maria March 29, 2016 / 4:49 am

        YES DO THAT ❤

Leave a Reply

