Tolkien Book Wishlist pt. 1

We all should know by now that I have a book hoarding problem, specifically a Tolkien book hoarding problem. Even after years of collecting there’s still so much more I’d like to one day own (this will be the case for many years to come, I’m sure). Here are some books that are on my collection wishlist:

The Hobbit Illustrated by Alan Lee

ISBN: 978-0547928258


The Silmarillion Illustrated by Ted Nasmith

ISBN: 978-0618391110


The Lord of the Rings Folio Society, 2002


The Art of the Hobbit by Wayne G. Hammond & Christina Scull

ISBN: 978-0547928258


The Art of The Lord of the Rings by Wayne G. Hammond & Christina Scull

ISBN: 978-0544636347


The Hobbit Deluxe Edition illustrated by Jemima Catlin

ISBN: 978-0007497911


The Lord of the Rings Unauthorized ACE Editions (just FOTR and ROTK)


Which books are on your wishlist? 🙂

7 thoughts on “Tolkien Book Wishlist pt. 1

  1. gekitsu November 1, 2015 / 1:17 pm

    i have the two art-of books and can recommend them most warmly, especially to a fellow artist and design nerd like you!

    as for my tolkien wishlist, i guess i am fairly easy/nonspecific: eventually, i’d like to have the rest of the history of middle earth. (i only have the volume on the appendices)

    the ‘important’ books, i do have at least once in an edition that is pleasing enough to look at. (some room to spare for a well-made UK hardcover silmarillion) all that might entice me to get extra copies is good illustrations (and i’d rather get an artist’s dedicated middle-earth art book than an illustrated edition) or good typesetting. the latter, i fear, has been a bit disappointing so far. even in the very nice harpercollins 50th anniv. hc lotr books, they used fake small caps and just pretty run-of-the-mill typography.

    that said, this folio society box looks darn pretty.

    • Myla November 1, 2015 / 1:34 pm

      That Folio Society edition is one of my favorites, I’m a huge sucker for swirly patterns! Gotta save up some money for that one, it’ll be so worth it. 😀

      Also if you don’t have it already, I recommend “Greg and Tim Hildebrandt, the Tolkien Years”, it has a lot of information of how they created their paintings and even shows their reference images!

      • gekitsu November 1, 2015 / 3:10 pm

        i have often looked at the hildebrandt book on amazon, putting it into my cart and out of it again. so far, i was never sold enough on their art to go through buying it, even though it makes me feel bad, considering their role in tolkien art. my current fave is justin gerard – see his hobbit and silmarillion galleries here: http://www.gallerygerard.com/the-art-of-justin-gerard – i really really wish he’d bundle these up in a huge book for me to buy.

        now that i’ve looked up that folio society edition on their site… damn, that looks tempting. AND THEY HAVE THE HOBBIT AND THE SILMARILLION TO MATCH! you don’t happen to know a review of those editions that show a page of text, do you?

      • Myla November 1, 2015 / 5:49 pm

        Ooooh yes I love Gerard! I want to own the book about Donato Giancola’s Tolkien art, I think it’s called “Middle-earth, Visions of a Modern Myth.”

        I don’t know of any reviews, I’m sorry. 😦 I’ve seen this one before: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=W89u0uFaWFQ but he just quickly flips through the pages.

      • gekitsu November 1, 2015 / 6:49 pm

        jup, that’s the one i saw as well. i was hoping for the entire time he’d get to the interior with as much care as he devoted to the cover, but, alas…

        donato is amazing! i have a special soft spot for his toned paper drawings. another piece of tolkien art that really took my socks off is jeffrey love’s entry for an old artorder challenge: http://www.theartorder.com/images/blog/gallery/2011/05/Jeffrey-Alan-Love_02.jpg

  2. Alice November 2, 2015 / 2:59 am

    I can’t believe I have a book you don’t own yeat! 😀 The Hobbit Illustrated by Alan Lee is a good choice!

    • Maria November 6, 2015 / 4:20 am

      ahahaha SAME! I feel like as if I’ve accomplished something XD.

Leave a Reply

