Tolkien Collection Haul: July-September 2015

July, August and September were pretty good to my Tolkien Collection! Got a nice mix of items, from books to a Gollum hat.


Here’s my first batch of books. Bought that copy of The Tolkien Companion by J.E.A. Taylor at a book sale over the summer, I want to say it was $2? Too bad there dust jacket is missing. I had a difficult time finding the ISBN, but inside it says PR6039.032Z49 1976 828′.9’1209 76-5203. I guess that’s it?

I bought the grey copy of The Lord of the Rings (ISBN 978-0-544-27344-3) at Strand for $9 which was like winning the lottery because the original list price is $30 (NYC book shops usually aren’t that cheap).

I actually got that copy of The Silmarillion First American Edition at a free book exchange! I love free books and I really love free Tolkien books. I already had a copy but this one is in MUCH better condition.

Lily continued to feed my collecting obsession this summer and one of the items she sent me was that copy of J.R.R. Tolkien: Architect of Middle-earth by Daniel Grotta (ISBN 0-7624-1337-9). I do have three other editions of the book, but OBVIOUSLY I needed another.

Bought that Two Towers (ISBN 0-261-10236-2) paperback at a book sale for I believe $1. Not bad and it’s in great shape.

That other copy of TTT (ISBN 0-395-27222-X) was from Lily and now the only one in that set that I need is FOTR! The next books are also from Lily (stopping after Beleriand). The People’s Guide to J.R.R. Tolkien (ISBN 1-892975-90-4), J.R.R. Tolkien: A Biography by Humphrey Carpenter (ISBN 0-618-05702-1), Monarch Notes for J.R.R. Tolkien’s The Fellowship of the Ring (ISBN 0-7607-0643-3), The Tolkien Reader (SBN 345-25585-2-195)– I messed up and photographed the wrong copy of The Tolkien Reader but they both basically look the same so it’s okay — and The Lays of Beleriand (ISBN 0-345-38818-6).

Bought that French edition of The Hobbit (ISBN 2-01-019907-3) for just $2 at a local bookstore and that copy of ROTK (SBN 345-01535-5-095) was found at a free book exchange! I couldn’t believe how great its condition is.


The FOTR Strategy Battle Game book (ISBN 1-84154-060-5) is also from Lily and I was pretty excited to receive it because I already had the ones for TTT  and ROTK.

I still can’t believe I bought that copy of The Hobbit for only TWO DOLLARS. It’s the paperback edition with illustrations from the Rankin Bass movie (ISBN 345-27711-2-895 — I’m guessing that’s the ISBN, it’s on the binding of the book). It’s in fantastic condition, only downside is that the past owner’s name/address is stamped on the inside cover.

I only spent $3 on that edition of Greg and Tim Hildebrandt: The Tolkien Years (ISBN 0-8230-5124-2) and it also comes with a poster of their painting, “The Siege of Minas Tirith II”.

The LOTR Instrumental Solos for Alto Sax is probably my most unnecessary item in my collection. It was $2 at my local used bookstore and I just….had to have it.


These two LOTR boksets were also from Lily (for real, her bookstores are the best. When I visited her I ended up buying so much stuff).

The top one (ISBN 0-04-823135-5) is from Unwin Paperbacks and it has that old book smell. It’s great.

The next one is the 1978 edition from Houghton Mifflin (ISBN 0-395-27220-3).


This is like a mini-old-Bilbo haul. I bought the Bilbo doll from ToyBiz for about $20 on Amazon. Worth EVERY PENNY. The Grey Havens figure was from Lily and also that goblet. It’s from Noble Collection and called “At the Shire” — I think.


The hobbit door postcard is drawn by Norloth. I love all of her drawings!

Bought that National Geographic DVD for FOTR at a book sale for $2 or $3. Not sure.

The LOTR cards were also from Lily (I swear I think 80% of this post is courtesy of her). She remembered I tweeted about them a looooong time ago, thank you, Lily!! You can find this set on eBay for a really cheap price, just search for “Lord of the Rings stained glass cards”.


LOTR Risk board game – the Trilogy Edition. Also from Lily, hahaha.

And this Gollum hat was also from her. Look at it. It’s beautiful.

2 thoughts on “Tolkien Collection Haul: July-September 2015

  1. Lily September 27, 2015 / 4:49 am

    What? No selfie with the Gollum hat? 😉

    I kinda imagine your room smells like old books all the time!

  2. Shaun Gunner (@ShaunGunner) September 27, 2015 / 5:26 am

    Just two quick things: the goblets are from Noble Collection but were mostly sold by New Line Cinema directly (I think on the bottom they say “© NLP”). They’re fairly rare now.

    On The Tolkien Companion “PR6039.032Z49” is actually the call number (a library classification) whilst “828′.9’1209” is the Dewey Decimal. I *think* the ISBN of this edition is 031257066X but not entirely sure.

    I want a Lily to send me books!

Leave a Reply

