Tattoos I Want to Get

Obviously I would want a Tolkien-themed tattoo, possibly more than 1! I have this dream of getting the Tengwar symbol for 9 tattooed somewhere on my body like the LOTR cast. At first I thought it would be kinda weird to get the same one but I’m sure there are fans all around the world that have done the same.

There is also, of course, the Tolkien insignia, a classic! If I get that I think I’d want it on my arm, possibly near my right shoulder. I’d also need a hobbit-themed tattoo but I don’t know what type of hobbit tattoo to get. I don’t think I want a hobbit door, or if I did I’d like it to be in the classic tattoo style like this. That entire Instagram account is dangerous because it makes me want to get ALL THE TATTOOS.

There is a huge cherry blossom tree (Kanzan) in my backyard and it always blooms near my birthday. Cherry blossoms make me think of home and happy times so I’d like a small tattoo of one (flower modeled by Sauron shown below). Nothing fancy, no branches or leaves, just one flower.

I’ve talked about this a lot, so many of you probably already know, but my favorite musical of all time is Rent, and I would like to have the lyric “no day but today” tattooed. I have such a difficult time picking a typeface to use in projects so I don’t know how I will choose one for a tattoo. I’m leaning towards the old-style typewriter look.

A few years ago, I passed a man on the street with tattoos of all the nation symbols from Avatar: The Last Airbender and it looked AWESOME. I’m not saying that this random guy made me realize I wanted an ATLA tattoo (though it would be fine if he had), I’ve been wanting one for years. ATLA is another one of my big fandoms, and I’d love to have a tattoo that represented that show. I imagine my tattoo would be just in black ink and without borders, unlike the image below.

So as of this moment there are 6 tattoos I’d like to get, there will probably be more.

What tattoos do you have/want to get? 🙂

4 thoughts on “Tattoos I Want to Get

  1. gekitsu August 11, 2015 / 9:11 pm

    have: none, because of trust issues. you’re an artist yourself, so i guess you can relate to the whole problem of designing yourself vs letting someone with actual experience in skin canvas design, trusting someone else’s abilities to get lines just right, and so on.

    want: two irezumi sleeves. probably short ones, elbow upward, covering the shoulder and ending on the pec. a snake on the left arm and a snow leopard on the right. snake because snakes are awesome, beautiful, wise, introverted, deep thinkers, and they can only be found where nothing is wrong/out of its natural balance. snow leopard because i love love love cats. all kinds of cats. the traditional japanese tattoo big cat is the tiger, symbolising strength, but i had a person who is very knowledgeable in these matters tell me thaht the snow leopard is my spirit animal. and they actually are the coolest of the big cat bunch, aren’t they? secretive and stealthy to the degree of being almost mythical, the beautiful greyish colour and pattern, and those beautiful proportions with the stocky legs and fluffy tail… i’m still mulling over what flower to combine them with.

    • Myla August 12, 2015 / 8:29 pm

      Oooooh awesome choices! The snow leopard seems like it would be a fantastic tattoo! I’ve always felt a connection to black panthers. 🙂

      Also, I totally feel you! Do I want to design my tattoos or do I want someone else to do it? THE STRESS

  2. Alice August 12, 2015 / 4:23 am

    I always wanted the Tengwar symbol for 9 too. But I always change my mind in general, so I think a tattoo wouldn’t be for me 🙂

  3. Disgruntled Ginger (@cableknitdragon) August 12, 2015 / 8:39 pm

    I’ll be getting my first tattoo (a blue jay on my foot) this Friday, it’s been one planned with my sister (who got a cardinal) for many years. After that I’m hoping to one day get possibly Bag End or some other kind of silly Tolkien theme’d tattoo!

Leave a Reply

