Broadway Musicals I’m the Most Excited For

The 2015-2016 Broadway season is practically here and there are so many shows I want to see! I enjoyed last season a lot, Fun Home was especially amazing and you should go listen to the soundtrack on their site. Trust me. Here are some of the shows I really want to see this season:

Allegiance

“Inspired by the true-life experience of its star George Takei (“Star Trek,” “Heroes”), Allegiance follows one family’s extraordinary journey in this untold American story. A mysterious envelope leads Sam Kimura (Takei) back 60 years to a time when he (played as a young man by Telly Leung — Godspell, “Glee”) and his sister Kei (Tony Award-winner Lea Salonga — Miss Saigon, Mulan) strive to save their family from the wrongful imprisonment of Japanese Americans during World War II. Sam enlists in the army to prove the Kimuras’ loyalty, but Kei joins draft resisters fighting for the rights of their people. Their paths take them from the lush farmlands of California to the wastelands of Wyoming to the battlefields of Europe, and their divided loyalties threaten to tear them apart forever. But as long-lost memories are unlocked, Sam finds that it is never too late to forgive and to recognize the redemptive power of love.”

I can easily see this winning Best Musical, it sounds so good and I would love the chance to see Lea Salonga again (I saw her about 8 — I think — years ago as Fantine in Les Miserables). Also, George Takei stars in it which automatically makes Allegiance great. I wish it came out this summer and not in the fall because I want to see it now!


Hamilton

“Lin-Manuel Miranda takes the stage as the unlikely founding father determined to make his mark on the new nation as hungry and ambitious as he is. From bastard orphan to Washington’s right hand man, rebel to war hero, a loving husband caught in the country’s first sex scandal, to the Treasury head who made an untrusting world believe in the American economy. George Washington, Eliza Hamilton, Thomas Jefferson and Hamilton’s lifelong friend/foil Aaron Burr all make their mark in this astonishing new musical exploration of a political mastermind.”

Man, this show has gained a lot of buzz and it did extremely well on Off-Broadway so it’s no surprise it’s already doing amazingly well on Broadway. I would love to see Hamilton this summer but it is practically sold out until the fall. Go, Lin!!


Fiddler on the Roof

“The original production won ten Tony Awards including a special Tony for becoming the longest-running Broadway musical of all time—and now you can be there when the sun rises on this new production starring Tony nominees Danny Burstein and Jessica Hecht with stunning movement and dance from acclaimed Israeli artist Hofesh Shechter based on the original choreography by Jerome Robbins. A wonderful cast and a lavish orchestra tell this heartwarming story of fathers and daughters, husbands and wives, and the timeless traditions that define faith and family.”

I saw Fiddler on the Roof some time between 2004-2006, I don’t remember the exact date. I am upset because I can’t really recall the show, all I remember is Alfred Molina singing “If I Were a Rich Man”. I’d love to see this show again and I just need to talk about the new logo and design, it’s gorgeous!


School of Rock

“SCHOOL OF ROCK is a brand new musical based on the famous Paramount film written by
Mike White which starred Jack Black. The musical follows Dewey Finn, a failed wannabe rock star who decides to earn a few extra bucks by posing as a substitute teacher at a prestigious prep school. Completely disinterested in academic work, Dewey decides to create his own curriculum, turning his class into a guitar-shredding, bass-slapping, mind-blowing rock band. The stage musical is produced by Andrew Lloyd Webber who has composed 14 new songs to create a score which also features all the original songs from the movie. SCHOOL OF ROCK, with its sensational live kids’ rock band, is a loving testimony to the transforming power of music. May the spirit of rock be with you!”

I have such high hopes for this musical! I really loved that movie and it’s been a while since I saw School of Rock but I probably still love it. You’re not hardcore, UNLESS YOU LIVE HARDCORE! I haven’t listened to any of the music or watched any videos yet, I’m debating whether or not I will before seeing the musical. Also the composer is Andrew Lloyd Webber, so it has to be great, right??


The Color Purple

“This unforgettable and intensely moving new production mesmerized audiences when it premiered at London’s acclaimed Menier Chocolate Factory, where critics hailed it as “a revelation” (Mark Shenton, The Stage). Now, this American classic comes to Broadway with a powerhouse cast including celebrated London star Cynthia Erivo, who will recreate her electrifying performance as Celie, along with “Orange is the New Black” star Danielle Brooks. With a soul-raising score of jazz, gospel, ragtime and blues, THE COLOR PURPLE gives an exhilarating new spirit to this Pulitzer Prize-winning story.”

I read the book as part of a project in high school and I remember liking it and I did not see this musical when it was on Broadway before but my mom did and she loved it a lot. I already know Jennifer Hudson is going to phenomenal! I know that there is a song released from The Color Purple, I’ll need to listen to it real soon.


Amazing Grace

“AMAZING GRACE is a new original musical based on the awe-inspiring true story behind the world’s most beloved song. A captivating tale of romance, rebellion and redemption, this radiant production follows one man whose incredible journey ignited a historic wave of change. John Newton (Tony Award® nominee Josh Young), a willful and musically talented young Englishman, faces a future as uncertain as the turning tide. Coming of age as Britain sits atop an international empire of slavery, he finds himself torn between following in the footsteps of his father – a slave trader – or embracing the more compassionate views of his childhood sweetheart (Erin Mackey). Accompanied by his slave, Thomas (Tony Award® winner Chuck Cooper), John embarks on a perilous voyage on the high seas. When that journey finds John in his darkest hour, a transformative moment of self-reckoning inspires a blazing anthem of hope that will finally guide him home. Brimming with emotion and adventure, AMAZING GRACE is an unforgettable musical saga that captures the spirit of history’s sweetest and most powerful sound: freedom.”

I’ve already watched some of the videos released for this show and I want to see it soooooo baaaaaad. I love that they made a musical about this, I didn’t know the story behind “Amazing Grace” before.


Tuck Everlasting

logo_home_autumn

“When Winnie Foster discovers the magical secret of the Tuck family, she embarks on an extraordinary adventure that will change her life forever. Take a journey you’ll never forget in this daring new Broadway musical about love, family and living life to the fullest. Based on the best-selling, award-winning novel by Natalie Babbitt, TUCK EVERLASTING is brought to life with world-class artistry and powerful storytelling in a sweeping production featuring a book by Tony Award® nominee Claudia Shear (Dirty Blonde), music by Chris Miller (The Burnt Part Boys), lyrics by Nathan Tysen (The Burnt Part Boys), and direction and choreography by Tony Award® winner Casey Nicholaw (Something Rotten!, Aladdin, The Book of Mormon).”

I did watch the movie but I don’t remember what it was about so I’m sure if I see the musical it’ll be all new for me. And I love the logo!


There are plenty of other shows I am excited for but there isn’t a lot of information about them yet like: AmelieAugest RushCharlie and the Chocolate FactoryEver AfterMean Girls, and Miss Saigon.

5 thoughts on “Broadway Musicals I’m the Most Excited For

  1. Lily July 6, 2015 / 11:54 am

    Tuck Everlasting is being turned into a musical?!?!

    Seriously. What would I do without you?

    • Myla July 6, 2015 / 12:07 pm

      I even think a Robin Hood musical is in the works 😉

  2. bookthegig July 7, 2015 / 9:47 am

    Keep your eyes peeled. If history repeats itself, we are going to see a slew of shows pop to the surface. I’m excited about a new one starring Audra McDonald. I’m a huge fan. Also is this Wiz really happening? Oh and American Psycho?(creepy)

  3. Chow Kim Wan August 10, 2015 / 10:26 am

    Ditto for Allegiance. Lea Salonga is my favorite! I also write about musicals on my blog, so you might wanna have a look. I shall do a response post to this as well!

Leave a Reply

