Why I collect.

Hi. My name is Myla and I am a Tolkien collector.

There have been times when people will see my love for collecting Tolkien items as weird or a waste of money. I get the curiosity (not the harshness), why do I need multiple copies of the same book? It’s not like the story inside is any different. Most of the time people don’t get too nasty with their opinions but there’s always those who will voice their thoughts in a mean and unnecessary way. Collecting doesn’t make me any less of a fan and it doesn’t make me any more of a fan. I’m a collector and that means I collect. It’s pretty simple.

I really don’t see why people would use so much energy to complain about something that makes someone else happy. Collecting is something I love to do, and I am fortunate enough to have access to so much Tolkien memorabilia. I love walking into book stores and heading straight to the Tolkien section. I enjoy looking at all the items available, touching the book spines, looking at the covers, and flipping through the pages. I love going to secondhand shops and hunting down Tolkien books and other products. Finding an item I don’t own is a wonderful feeling because it’s like finding some kind of treasure. And no, I don’t purchase everything I find, if I did I wouldn’t have money to eat. It’s enough for me to just find something, it’s fun for me. It’s something that makes me happy.

Hell, sometimes I’ll even spend time on websites such as Amazon, Ebay, and Abebooks just to look up Tolkien stuff whether that means books or movie merchandise. I’ll do research on expensive items I will never be able to afford like first edition books, awesome sword replicas from the films, and rare action figures. I like seeing everything that’s out there even if I don’t own it. It continuously surprises me that there are so many things to collect. It’s impossible to collect everything, but that doesn’t stop me from collecting as much as I can.

For me, looking at all the different books I own is fun and even relaxing. Seeing the artwork is my favorite because it’s always so beautiful. My collection is one of the things I’m the most proud of and knowing that Middle-earth is only a few feet away from my bed is oddly comforting. I think I get the collecting bug from my dad because he’s a collector, but not of Tolkien. His collecting is mostly aimed towards James Brown, Abbott & Costello, Frank Frazetta and comic books. He has his own thing and I don’t look down on it at all because it’s what brings him joy. It isn’t my place to judge that.

It’s fascinating to see covers for the books that I have never seen before. If you’re on Instagram you should definitely check out the #Tolkien hashtag because people from all around the world post photos of their merchandise. I’ve seen editions I never knew existed and I absolutely love seeing it all!

The people who cannot believe I would spend so much time and money on collecting obviously haven’t even seen some other people’s collections. There are people who have entire rooms dedicated to their collections and that’s totally fine. If it makes them happy and doesn’t hurt anyone, it shouldn’t matter to other people.

So, why do I collect? Because I want to. It makes me happy. I don’t need more of a reason. *mic drop*

4 thoughts on “Why I collect.

  1. Maria February 16, 2015 / 3:33 pm

    Well said! The ‘Collecting bug’ is also in my family: my parents can’t say no to furniture (thank god we have a huge barn to store everything…). Although I’ve never considered myself a collecter, I think I’m becoming one. My goal is to start purchasing orginal Tolkien fanart. Btw I’m a huuuge fan of your collection! I love seeing new stuff added to your precious collection =)

    • Myla February 16, 2015 / 6:10 pm

      Oooooh yes a collection of Tolkien fanart would be amazing! I would love to see what you find!! Also thank you thank you me and my collection are very flattered haha ❤ xD

  2. Joshua M. February 16, 2015 / 5:25 pm

    I couldn’t have said this any better myself. This is it. This is why we collect, pure and simple. I won’t hesitate for a second to point other towards this post whenever I’m criticised for collecting.

    It makes me so happy that you wrote this. Honestly. Thank you, Myla.

    • Myla February 16, 2015 / 6:13 pm

      This has been a topic on my mind for a while and after getting that hateful comment today I figured it’s finally time I write down my thoughts! Hopefully this will help people understand what the fascination is with collecting. 😀

Leave a Reply

