Collection Spotlight: February 4, 2015

This Wednesday I wanted to highlight one of my (in my opinion) coolest items in my collection, The Art of Film Magic: 20 Years of Weta!

ISBN: 978-0-06-229785-3

Find it on Amazon, Abebooks and Weta’s Official Site.

The day these books were announced I got so excited because wow I could actually learn more about the company who have created so many beautiful worlds, but most importantly, Middle-earth. 😉 My heart dropped when I saw the price so I just concluded that it would have to be an extravagant birthday or Christmas gift one year. So imagine how PSYCHED I was when I saw it at Strand Book Store in NYC for $50! I almost didn’t buy it but in the end I just couldn’t leave it.

    I have not read as much as I would like to admit, but I really want to read at least all of the LOTR/Hobbit sections so I can write a review on Middle-earth News. From what I have read, I can say that these books are incredible. They go into depth for all of the projects Weta has done, not just the ones about Middle-earth.

I really appreciate that Gollum is featured the most, he’s on the box and he’s on the cover of both books. It’s no surprise really since Gollum was such a huge step for digital animation. I can’t say much more about this boxed set but to conclude this post, I just want to gush a little bit more about the packaging and design. I can’t help but feel some sense of Tolkien-fan pride that LOTR and The Hobbit are the main movies shown. 🙂

 

 

Leave a Reply

