Collection Spotlight: January 28, 2015

As promised in my previous post, each Wednesday I will try to post about an item from my Tolkien Collection. It’s just something I thought would be interesting for you guys as well as me. So this week I wanted to talk about this 7-Volume Boxed set of The Lord of  the Rings.

ISBN: 0-00-712401-5

Find it on Amazon and Abebooks.

I don’t remember the exact date I obtained this set but it must have been at least two years ago, or maybe three I don’t know. It was found at a local flea market for no more than $1 I believe. What a steal, am I right? It’s definitely used, it’s not in a new pristine shape but honestly that’s fine because the books inside are still perfectly intact. Here are some other angles of the box:

                              

I think this set is very interesting because you don’t normally see a 7-Volume set, three yes, but not 7. I mean I guess it’s cool because there are 7 letters in “Tolkien” so it has that going for it. I do feel it’s not really, um, necessary (?) to split up each book of each…book. Obviously it was created during the hype of the LOTR films, and I’m sure many people bought them. It is a nice looking set I think, I like the subtle print of the Ring’s inscription on the spines of all the books.

So what do you think? Does this seem like a blog series you would want to read each week? 😀

4 thoughts on “Collection Spotlight: January 28, 2015

  1. Lily January 28, 2015 / 1:03 pm

    This definitely seems like a blog series I would like to read every week. I’m sure there will be a lot that are like this week–I never even knew this set existed! It’ll be nice to discover new things and what makes them special. 🙂

  2. Alice January 28, 2015 / 2:48 pm

    Yes, yes, yes! 😀

  3. sallylarkinsays January 28, 2015 / 9:30 pm

    definitely, I love hearing from other people who love what I love!

  4. Maria January 29, 2015 / 6:08 am

    Love this edition! Also I’m looking for the next article in this series =D

Leave a Reply

