Tolkien Collection Haul: October-December 2014

As stated in my last post, one of my goals for 2015 is to do a Tolkien haul post every three months and what better way to start than the beginning of the new year?! There are some items that I have added to my collection within that last few months but because I’m lazy and don’t feel like taking them out to take photos, they won’t be shown in this post.

FIGURES

I’ll start with figures first. I didn’t realize I added so many to my collection within the last three months, but it’s mostly because of New York Comic Con.

The list will be from left to right:

  • Strider figure
  • The Balrog – Flame of Udun Polystone Statue by Sideshow Collectibles
  • Prologue Bilbo
  • Sauron Funko Pop
  • Pippin and Ugluk
  • Frodo and Sam with Lothlorien boat
  • Arwen, Frodo and Asfaloth
  • Orc and warg battle scale figures
  • Rohan battle scale figure
  • Frodo doll
  • Arwen doll
  • Aragorn doll
  • Frodo Funko plushie
  • Invisible Bilbo, Gollum and Frodo


MISCELLANEOUS

These were some of my Christmas gifts. The plate is from a hobbit themed restaurant and the cards are from when Denny’s had a Hobbit menu.

I found this puzzle at my local used bookshop, I’ve been meaning to count the pieces to make sure all 500 are there but ehh, that’s a lot of time haha.

The top two are sketchbooks that I got from a Barnes and Noble for 40% off (SCORE), the bottom left I got recently from a B&N and that last one was from when I went to TheOneRing.net’s “Ringers Take Manhattan” party back in October.

I was really excited when I found this at a used bookstore/record store. I’ve always wanted this!

This was one of my other purchases from NYCC this year and this was my splurge item. I haven’t even worn it yet, I’m nervous that I’ll somehow ruin it or stain it somehow.

I was pretty late in getting the DOS EE DVD, but it’s finally miiine!! And it looks so pretty. And that copy of the BOTFA soundtrack was one of my Christmas gifts from my parents.

These are all the magazines I acquired the last three months!

  • Entertainment Weekly – Colbert as Gandalf cover
  • Entertainment Weekly – featured a small story on BOTFA
  • Total Film Magazine – Hobbit issue
  • Sci Fi – Thranduil on cover
  • Weta catalog I got from NYCC
  • Mad Magazine – had a Hobbit themed calendar inside
  • Noble Collection catalog

BOOKS

I’ve always wanted my own copy of the 50th Anniversary of The Hobbit, and thanks to an amazing friend and awesome thrift store I finally have one! The cover is pretty banged up and it no longer shows the anniversary label but the book itself is in great shape. Now I have to save up to get the 75th Anniversary edition!

From top to bottom:

  • LOTR boxset with cover artwork by John Howe
  • The Hobbit movie-tie-in paperback book featuring Smaug and Bilbo on the cover
  • Two Towers hardback copy with cover artwork by Alan Lee
  • Two Towers hardback copy
  • Two Towers hardback copy with a photo of Saruman on the cover
  • Two Towers paperback copy with Legolas on the cover
  • LOTR boxset with cover illustrations by Alan Lee
  • Letters from Father Christmas
  • Tolkien: A Look Behind ‘The Lord of the Rings’ by Lin Carter
  • Paperback copy of The Return of the King

Okay these last three months has been pretty great for my collection especially in terms of movie books. I’m SOOOO happy that I have these now!

Hopefully the order I list them will be easy to follow:

  • The Art of Film Magic: 20 Years of Weta
  • The Hobbit: The Battle of the Five Armies Chronicles, Art & Design
  • The Hobbit: The Battle of the Five Armies Official Movie Guide by Brian Sibley
  • The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey Movie Storybook
  • The Art of The Lord of the Rings by Gary Russell
  • The Art of The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring by Gary Russell
  • The Art of The Lord of the Rings: The Two Towers by Gary Russell
  • The Hobbit Location Guidebook by Ian Brodie
  • The Lord of the Rings Gollum: How We Made Movie Magic by Andy Serkis
  • The Lord of the Rings Location Guidebook by Ian Brodie
  • The Lord of the Rings Complete Visual Companion by Jude Fisher
  • The Lord of the Rings Official Movieguide (hardcover) by Brian Sibley
  • The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug, Smaug: Unleashing the Dragon by Daniel Falconer
2 thoughts on “Tolkien Collection Haul: October-December 2014

Leave a Reply

