Life update and a possible new blog series?

Hello everyone! Yesterday I moved back into my dorm and tomorrow my classes officially begin! I’m pretty excited because 4 out of the 5 classes I’m taking are related to my major so I’m happy to finally get really into it. This semester won’t be easy but I know my graphic design skills will grow a lot over the next few months. πŸ˜€ I can’t wait to learn new things ahhh I’m excited did I say that already?? But I’m also nervous, but hopefully that doesn’t stop me from doing my best. That’s what I’ve been up to lately, nothing interesting yet.

So, what possible new blog series am I talking about? I want to talk about books! Before I get ahead of myself, first let me explain why I want to start something like this. I read a lot when I was younger, but it slowly stopped once I started college back in 2011. My work load just got too much and I was feeling stressed like all college students do and I found it hard to pick up a book and keep up with it. I haven’t read that much over the past 3 years, probably less than 10 which is disappointing. (I’m not counting books I was required to read for classes.)

Even though I haven’t been reading as much as I’d like to, I still manage to find time to watch shows and movies on Netflix for an embarrassingly long time. If I can do that, why can’t I relax for a few hours a week reading? My pile of books to read has gotten way too high and it’s about time I fixed that. Mostly they’re fantasy series like A Song of Ice and Fire (I’ve been stuck in A Feast for Crows for way too long because after A Storm of Swords it seems so boring), Memory, Sorrow and Thorn (I read only like 5 pages I’m a disgrace), The Death Gate CycleΒ (I’ve been in the process of reading the second book for over a year, ha),Β The Sword of TruthΒ and others I can’t remember. A lot of them are books my dad wants me to try.

OKAY, BACK TO THE BLOG SERIES. I want to try and read as much as I can this semester and diving into a book will be a nice break from all the assignments I’m going to have. I am thinking of starting with the first book in the Memory, Sorrow, and Thorn series, The Dragonbone Chair. I don’t know what it’s about all I know is that this is a very sad series, pretty much what you’d expect with a title like Memory, Sorrow, and Thorn.

How do I plan to do this? NO IDEA. I make absolutely no promises that I will regularly post for this series, I still want to try and keep up with my Tolkien Artist Fridays one. But I’ll try my best and hopefully it will be somewhat interesting for you all to read! I’ve never done something like this and don’t have any plans as to how I will discuss my readings. I’ll probably be flopping around for a while until I find my own style and flow.

My goal is to make a post at least every two weeks, so about twice a month if everything goes well. My classes this semester start pretty late, my earliest ones start at 1:40 so I definitely have time to squeeze in an hour or two of reading every other day.

5 thoughts on “Life update and a possible new blog series?

  1. Alice August 27, 2014 / 4:54 pm

    Can’t wait to read them! I’m pretty excited about your upcoming features πŸ™‚
    Good luck with your new semester.

    • Myla August 27, 2014 / 11:42 pm

      Thank you, Alice! πŸ˜€

  2. Ivynettle August 31, 2014 / 8:30 pm

    I wouldn’t say Memory, Sorrow and Thorn is sad, really – sure, some parts of it always break my heart, but there are many other scenes that make me so happy. It was one of the inspirations for A Song of Ice and Fire, but it was written with a much more optimistic view of humankind.
    I could rave about MST all day, but I’ll shut up now. At least once I’ve said this: I hope you love it! πŸ™‚

    • Myla August 31, 2014 / 8:32 pm

      Ooooh thank you! Now I’m even more excited to get into these books. πŸ˜€

  3. Firs September 15, 2014 / 7:50 pm

    This is a bit late, but I hope you’re enjoying the book, Myla. It’s a great series: one of the best fantasy series of all time, in my opinion. I agree with Ivy that there are parts that break your heart, but some wonderful, hopeful passages as well. Anyway, enjoy! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

