Thoughts on ‘The Desolation of Smaug’ Extended Edition Figurine

I just saw what the special figure for DOS will be and I am feeling very underwhelmed to say the least. Don’t get me wrong, the craftsmanship is beautiful, just what you expect from Weta, but the subject matter? I’m not really feeling it. I was one of the people who enjoyed the barrel scene, it was so ridiculous and funny that I couldn’t not like it. Bombur taking out orcs while stuck in a barrel and Legolas playing hopscotch on dwarf heads? Too good to scoff at. Even though I liked the scene, I don’t consider it that big of a moment to make it the special addition to the DOS EE. I was hoping for something Mirkwood related or you know, Smaug. Smaug would have been awesome. Hell, something Bard related would be cool too!

I like to look at the barrel scene as the “video game moment” for DOS. In AUJ it was the escape from Goblin Town. It looked like a video game, I’m just saying. I wonder what it will be for BOTFA.

I’m getting off topic. Right, the figurine. It’s very nice, but not something I would have expected to be with the sepcial DOS EE set.

One thought on “Thoughts on ‘The Desolation of Smaug’ Extended Edition Figurine

  1. Alice August 8, 2014 / 8:28 am

    Yeah…honestly I don’t think that the barrel scene is the most important moment of the film. So, I agree with you.

Leave a Reply

